The Reno Association for the Education of Young Children (RAEYC) is a local chapter of the Nevada AEYC and affiliated with the National Association. RAEYC serves individuals working in early childhood education in the Reno/Sparks and surrounding areas. They sponsor educational events, advocacy activities, special events such as the annual ECE Awards Night, and have regular membership meetings.

RAEYC Vision Statement

All children thrive and learn in a society dedicated to ensuring they reach their full potential.

RAEYC Mission Statement

RAEYC promotes high-quality early learning for all children, birth through age 8, by connecting practice, policy, and research. We advance a diverse, dynamic early childhood profession and support all who care for, educate, and work on behalf of young children.


  • President: Kayelynn Ogden
  • Vice President: LeAn Shelton
  • Treasurer-Elect: Nisa Butler
  • Secretary: Nina McCartney
  • Historian/Newsletter: Crissy Mann
  • Public Policy Coordinator: Jencie Davies
  • Technology Chair: Courtney Traphagen
  • Member at Large/Events: Marena Kelley

Open Board Positions

The R.A.E.Y.C. Board is always seeking nominations to fill open positions or future positions. Nominees should be current or potential members who are passionate about children and family issues in Nevada and must be able to commit the time necessary to achieve progress on our organizational goals and mission. Elections will be held in November with new members beginning a 2-year term in January. For more information on current open Board positions and the nomination process, please contact us.

Open Positions: Nomination Chair/Membership Chair, Accreditation Chair, Educational Development Chair

RAEYC Events

Coming Soon!

RAEYC  Leadership Academy

Inspiration, Reflection, Direction, Action

The purpose of this academy is to help early childhood professionals develop their leadership skills and take on more of a leadership role in the Early Childhood Community. The Leadership Academy requires a 10 month commitment from participating emerging leaders. Please contact Kayelynn Ogden for more information.